CycleCloud 6 feature: cluster upgrade button

This post is one of several in a series describing features introduced in CycleCloud 6, which we released on November 8.

When you create a CycleCloud cluster, it gets “pinned” to the version of CycleCloud you’re running. This means the images and automation tools will stay within the same release series to prevent an unexpected changes in behavior. When you upgrade your CycleCloud installation, clusters will continue using the same version they were created with until you decide to upgrade it. This allows you to upgrade clusters on your own schedule.

New in CycleCloud 6 is a button to perform the upgrade on terminated clusters.

CycleCloud 6 cluster upgrade button

The “Upgrade” button will appear for any cluster that is set to a previous version. If the cluster is terminated, you can click the button to upgrade the cloud images and automation suite. Running clusters cannot be upgraded in order to prevent a cluster from running mixed versions.

Once you click the Upgrade button, CycleCloud will update the internal record to use the new version. You can immediately click Start to launch your upgraded cluster.

Share this: